All news

The new Ombudsman of Rwanda

2017/09/19 09:54:20 AM

The Senate of Rwanda has approved Anastase MUREKEZI as the new Ombudsman of Rwanda

On Thursday, on 07th September 2017, the Senate of the Republic of Rwanda has approved the former prime Minister of Rwanda, Hon. Anastase MUREKEZI as the new Ombudsman.

Anastaze Murekezi_Ombudsman Rwanda

MODALITIES FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF OMBUDSMAN AND DEPUTY OMBUDSMEN For each position of the members of the Ombudsmen Council, the Government shall submit to the Senate the names of the candidate agreed upon by Cabinet for approval. Approved candidates shall be appointed by a Presidential Order.


The Ombudsman shall serve a five (5) year term, while Deputy Ombudsmen shall serve a four (4) year term. The term of the Ombudsman and that of Deputy Ombudsmen may be renewable only once through the procedure that was applied in the first term.
On 30th August 2017, the former Prime Minister of Rwanda was Appointed as the Ombudsman of Rwanda but the candidate had to wait for the Senate approval according to the procedure.

Hon. Anastase MUREKEZI is replacing Hon CYANZAYIRE Aloysie who has been the Ombudsman of Rwanda for the last 5 years and it is planned that he will step in the office within few days.

The law define that before taking up their office, the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsmen shall take the oath of office provided for in Article 63 of the Constitution of the Republic of Rwanda of 2003 revised in 2015.
Cyanzayire_Former Ombudsman Rwanda

Hon. CYANZAYIRE Aloysie, the former Ombudsman of Rwanda

The office of the ombudsman has three ombudsmen:
1. Anastase MUREKEZI, Ombudsman
2. Clement MUSANGABATWARE, Deputy Ombudsman in charge of preventing and fighting against corruption and other related offences.
3. Odette YANKULIJE, Deputy Ombudsman in charge of preventing and fighting injustice

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved